Well it was an emotional day here for me, first off I do want to say what I had done was 100% not intentional at all I didn’t realize I had done that. I want to say thank you to all the sponsors, volunteers and Mission Hills for making this week possible at the @anainspiration ! Also to the fans out there, words can’t describe what you being there for me, meant to me. You helped me push thru those last holes so thank you for always believing in me. A big thanks to my caddy as well for always staying positive and being there for me when it got tough. I played some great golf so definitely a lot of positives to take from the week. Time for a very needed 3 weeks off now. Thank you everybody ❤
Lexi Thompson took to social media after Sunday’s ANA Inspiration final to thank her fans and those who offered her support.
Thompson lost the ANA Inspiration to So Yeon Ryu on the first hole of sudden-death playoff after losing four strokes due to a penalty assessed from her play Saturday.
“Well it was an emotional day here for me, first off I do want to say what I had done was 100% not intentional at all I didn’t realize I had done that,” she wrote.
LPGA rules official Sue Witters informed Thompson as she walked to the 13th tee that she had violated Rule 20-7c when she replaced her ball an inch away from its original position on a 1-foot putt on the 17th hole Saturday afternoon. She incurred a two-stroke penalty for the infraction, plus an addition two-stroke penalty under Rule 6-6d for turning in an incorrect scorecard.
She shared the remarks with her 231,000 Instagram and 309,000 Twitter followers.